Quote

My 5 questions to … Clay

While browsing the web looking for travel inspiration I found Clay. He’s a twenty – something U.S. traveler, university student and entrepreneur.
While he travels he writes about his adventures on the road while giving plenty of tips and tricks to enjoy traveling without exploding your budget. His upcoming adventure is moving to Scotland.

He was so kind to respond to my 5 questions to keep others inspired!

  • When did it hit you, you like to travel and blog about it? Was it one holiday in particular?

Nope! It wasn’t a particular holiday. It was completely random, really. I remember 2 months out from graduating high school asking myself if the career path I had chosen was what I wanted in my heart (it was being a police officer) and I asked myself what I would do if I could do anything. Like any sane person I said “Travel the world!” Luckily I had some writing chops and was recognized by my peers as being talented in that area which gave me some confidence, so travel writing it was. About a year later I launched Headed Abroad.

  • What was the best hotel you’ve ever been to?

That’s a tough question! I would have to go with this place I stayed in Dearborn, Michigan. I can’t even remember the name of the place, but it was typically used for business travelers. What I liked about it the most was that it was 10 or so stories tall and the entire middle was carved into a giant atrium. There was a bar and lounge area at the bottom and a big pool (i’m a sucker for pools) inside. 

  • What holiday surprised you the most? What country/city was more amazing than you thought it would be?

The holiday that surprised me the most was a trip I took to Florida. I spent a week traveling through tourist areas in cities like Orlando. I’m typically not a big fan of tourist attractions, but there was the Harry Potter World at Universal and of course being a massive fan I had to go.

  • What holiday was a disappointment? When you thought it would be great but really wasn’t.

Hmm, good question! I can’t say I have one particular holiday that was a disappointment because i’m generally fairly satisfied when i’m traveling. A recent disappointment though that I had was plans to head to Colorado that ended up falling through. Travel plans falling through is the worst!

  • What country/city/hotel is your #1 on your wishing list?

The number one on my list right now is Scotland. I’ve heard incredible things about it and i’ve been wanting to go for years. I even read a guidebook on it because I wanted to go so badly even though I didn’t have any plans at the time. Thankfully, in early to mid-August i’ll be moving there for 3.5 months just outside of Edinburgh and taking a guided tour of the Highlands as well as a few other trips when I can afford them. I’m going to have to find a new #1 pretty soon!

If you’re curious about Clay’s adventure in Scotland or interested in his tips and tricks while traveling you should definitely check him out here : headedabroad

Leave a Reply

